Top Ten Tuesdays : Top 10 Summer TBR Picks

Top Ten Tuesdays is a set of top ten posts hosted by The Broke and Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List.


Even excluding the books I mentioned in this post and my recent book buy, I had to work hard to whittle my tbr pile down to my top ten.

New Releases

1. Heir of Fire–I’m currently rereading Throne of Glass as prep for my first reads of Crown of Midnight and The Assassin’s Blade, but even so I’m already pumped for Heir of Fire. Celaena is such a fun character (even though the conceit of her being a super!assassin by 16 is a bit of a stretch), and the politics of Erilea are so interesting I can’t wait to see what happens with Nehemia and Dorian in the next several books.

2. Downfall–Above everything, Rob Thurman’s Cal and Niko Leandros series is fun and brimming with hurt/comfort, and I particularly enjoyed the last few novels. I’ll definitely be picking up Downfall when it comes out.

New To Me

3. Lady Thief–I thought I’d enjoy Scarlet, but I ended up loving it. The politics of Will Scarlet secretly being a woman were much better dealt with than I’d dared hope, and we actually got a couple of conversations where male assumptions about dating and female sexual availability were challenged. And, on top of that, the story was pretty fun and ended in a big adventure.

4. Hood–Another Robin Hood retelling (yes; I’m a fan), Hood is set in Wales in a different time period and apparently features guerilla fighters. I’m really looking forward to it.

5. Magic Lost, Trouble Found–I really liked The Grendel Affair, Shearin’s first urban fantasy, so I picked up the first in her more traditional fantasy series. I don’t know a whole lot about it yet, but I’m excited to start the series this summer.

6. Retribution Falls–The first book in a series whose premise sounds a bit like Firefly. As a Browncoat, I just couldn’t say no.

7. Leviathan–Alternate, steampunk World War 1? I’m in.

8. Half-Off Ragnarok–The first book in the InCryptid series was good; the second was absolutely fantastic. This third novel, which switches to a different protagonist, involves a biologist who studies (and occasionally hunts) supernatural creatures. After Midnight Blue-Light Special, my expectations are pretty high, but I’m sure I’ll love this one.

9. Dawnthief–The first in a trilogy (which apparently has a spinoff trilogy), Dawnthief is about a group of mercenaries who do battley things in a high/epic fantasy setting, which sounds dull, but I’ve heard some really good things about the characters in these novels.

10. The Preacher–The sequel to The Ice Princess. Unlike a lot of case-centric mystery series, the protagonists’ relationship keeps maturing throughout this series, and it’s honestly as interesting as the murdery bits. I just started The Preacher, but I’m already enjoying it.

Bonus: Roman Britain–I added this as a bonus because this blog focuses on fiction, but I’m a huge history buff, and I finally bought Roman Britain, which I’ve heard excellent things about and have lusted after for several months. I haven’t had time to read it since I did, but I’m going to make some this summer and look forward to it immensely.

Leave a Reply

