Birthday Book Buy!

It was my birthday this weekend, and I got a couple of gift cards to Barnes and Noble and Thriftbooks. Together with a judicious application of coupons, these netted me a grand total of twelve books (five new, seven used)!

Books (and why I’m so excited to finally have/order them) behind the cut!


First up is Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson, the first in an epic fantasy trilogy. I heard about this series years ago, before Sanderson was hired to finish the WoT books, but I’d just never gotten around to reading it. Recently it’s been making the rounds of Booktube, and apparently it’s popular enough among young adults to be reissued for the YA market. I’m a sucker for trade paperbacks, and the plot apparently revolves around some sort of fantasy heist to depose an evil ruler, so I knew I had to pick it up when I saw it at my B&N.


Next we have Dirty Magic by Jaye Wells. This is the first in a new urban fantasy series which I know nothing about, but the cover looked neat and this printing is at a ‘special introductory price’ of $10 (which is normally what YA trade paperbacks cost, so I don’t see why adult books must be so overpriced).


The next three books were all sequels to books I have but have not yet read. Eona, by Alison Goodman, is the second in a high fantasy duology about a girl who, in the first book, pretended to be a boy so she could train with dragons. I’m a sucker for the ‘disguised as a boy’ trope (thanks, Tamora Pierce!), and the series has excellent reviews.


Kristen Simmon’s Breaking Point is the second in a trilogy (after Article 5). The setting of this dystopian series feels a bit Big Brotherish, with the Government pursuing a girl whose mother is jailed. The third book, Three, was released in hardcover this February.


The last new book I bought was Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers. Although it is technically second in the His Fair Assassin trilogy, I believe the novels mostly stand alone. The series revolves around different members of a group of assassin nuns, so it had me at hello, and, moreover, it’s written really well. I’m about 20% through Grave Mercy and enjoying it.


The first of my thriftbook haul is Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta. I’ve heard excellent things about this epic fantasy trilogy all over the place, and I noticed the third book at B&N. I’m not entirely sure what it’s about and want to go into it fairly blind, but I’m quite excited for it.


Next, The Courtier’s Secret by Donna Russo Morin. I recently bought another Morin novel (To Serve a King) at a bargain, and, though I haven’t read it yet, it looks fascinating, and the first couple of pages hooked me. The Courtier’s Secret is set in Versailles in the late 17th century and features adventure with some Musketeers, which is a group I love reading about.


I believe Steven Harper’s The Doomsday Vault, the first in an alternate-Victorian England series, was pretty popular among the steampunk crowd when it was released a few years ago. I’ve already read this book, having borrowed it from the library a while back, but I enjoyed it so much I wanted my own copy and am on the hunt for the rest of the series, which I have yet to read.


Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover is also another reread (again, the library), but I really love this book. It’s a companion novel to Hopeless, which I really suggest reading first. This new adult novel is very heartfelt and has some very sweet moments, although it does have quite a few darker, triggering themes.*


I recced Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson last weekend, and Blackmoore is another romance by the same author. This one is set in northern England in the 1820s.


The last two books I ordered were Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit and Moribito: Guardian of the Darkness by Nahoko Uehashi. The first novel was the basis for an anime of the same name which is tied for first place on my favorites list. The main character of this series, Balsa, a young woman who uses her fighting abilities to protect people. I’m not sure how the novel(s) compare to the anime, which was gorgeous, intricately plotted and featured some fantastic characterization, but I am absolutely thrilled to have ordered them.

That (finally!) concludes this year’s birthday book haul. I’ll have to wait a week or three for my orders from thriftbooks, but which should I read first? Are there any books or series you all are interested in?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily @ Oh Magic Hour
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 10:44:34

    Oh man, I am excited about so many of these for you!! I think you will love Mistborn. And Finnikin. And Dark Triumph! I can’t wait to see what you think.

    And HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Reply

    • bridget hunter
      Jun 17, 2014 @ 10:47:56

      Aww, thanks! I am so excited for all of them I don’t even know where to start :D. I’m a huge epic fantasy fan, so much of this buy just feels like indulgence after indulgence :).

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Top Ten Tuesdays : Top 10 Summer TBR Picks | in the land of the dragons

Leave a Reply

