Bout of Books Readathon!

Okay, I didn’t realize the Bout of Books was going to be this week until late last night. But I’m still game! The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team Personal Goals:

  • Read at least one hour per day
  • Finish at least five books this week
  • Finish Wintertide and Midnight Blue-Light Special
  • Read at least two books from my tbr pile
  • Create an army of killer robots

I’ll be making separate posts for each day. Eh, I’ll just sticky post this for the week instead of spamming. I’m really looking forward to joining in the readathon this time around! Monday Read Midnight Blue-Light Special, the second in the InCryptid series by Seanan McGuire (338 pages). Longer review coming once I read the third book (Half-Off Ragnarok), but in short I absolutely loved this novel. It was even better than the first book, with some fun character development, and a couple of the minor characters had some unexpected moments of awesome. I think this world is pretty much populated with BAMFs, and I’m loving it. Challenge Rec: If you liked Discount Armageddon or Midnight Blue-Light Special, you might like the Five Hundred Kingdoms series by Mercedes Lackey (of which I’ve also, however, only read the first two so far). It’s high fantasy rather than urban, but all of the books feature female protagonists (with actually different personalities), they’ve also got some mythological creatures in them (and are actually loose retellings of fairy tales), and they’ve got a good dose of humor in them. Like the InCryptid series, they’re also fairly light reading but don’t suffer from a lack of action. Tuesday! I finished Wintertide (in the bindup edition Heir of Novron) by Michael J. Sullivan, having left off on page 145 a few weeks ago. I also started The Ice Princess by Camilla Läckberg. As of this post, I’m on pg. 39. The Daily Rec: If you like epic fantasy with humor and plenty of action and adventure, you mighty try the Ryiria Revelations series. Do read them in order (starting with the bindup Theft of Swords). See my vlog for Days 1 & 2 on youtube! Wednesday!

Notes: Joined in the chat today–that was so much fun! The Daily Rec: If you liked Switched, you might try Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen. Both feature cool female characters with secrets in their pasts, a unique setting (myth-creature fantasy in Switched, the Robin Hood legend for Scarlet), and first person narrative. Alternatively, if you liked The Ice Princess, you might like In the Bleak Midwinter by Julia Spencer-Fleming. While The Ice Princess has blurbs comparing it to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series, I found that the tone of The Ice Princess was a bit warmer, and the more mature rapport between the two leads, as well as the tone, reminded me of Spencer-Fleming’s series. See my Day 3 vlog on youtube! Thursday Today’s not worth bullet points. I read about 30 pages, finishing off Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson (which I stayed up last night reading). The Daily Rec: If you liked Edenbrooke, you might like My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. Although Edenbrooke is an adult Regency romance and My Life Next Door is a YA contemporary, both of them are very sweet, light romances that feature swoon-worthy love interests and family troubles as a plot complication. See my Day 4 vlog on youtube! Friday! Read These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. I really enjoyed it, and I will definitely be doing a review on it this weekend/next week. The Daily Rec: If you liked These Broken Stars, you might like Graceling by Kristin Cashore. Both feature a romance in a sort of survivalist setting, and both heroines are outspoken and brave. See my Day 5 vlog on youtube!     Saturday and Sunday Read At Any Price by Brenna Aubrey (which was not very good) on Saturday and Avalon High by Meg Cabot (which was) on Sunday. Due to real life, I didn’t get a chance to vlog or blog these days. Overall, I read 7.5 books (over 2500 pages), which is far more than I expected to. I’m really happy with my reading this week and am looking forward to the next bout of books in August.

Leave a Reply

