Classics Book Club: Lysistrata

Title: Lysistrata
Author: Aristophanes
Format: Ebook
Reread or New: New

I read Lysistrata well over a month ago now, but I’ve been putting off my blog post about it because, quite frankly, I just don’t have a whole lot to say about it. It’s such a famous, old, and influential play that I pretty much knew what to expect before I read it (though I didn’t know I’d enjoy it as much as I did), but I don’t have a lot to add to what’s already out there.

The plot is pretty well-known: wives withhold nookie from their husbands in order to stop more pointless wars. It’s really cool how Lysistrata treats women as people with thinking brains, and the gags about people seeking or avoiding sex are hilarious: my favorite is when Myrrhine agrees to have sex with her husband, Cinesias…then proceeds to run back and forth grabbing items while Cinesias grows even more impatient and uncomfortable. Also, the ‘Is that a ___ in your pocket?’ joke was hilarious—and it just went on and on, getting even funnier with every line.

Hmm, what else? I was surprised both that the old men immediately decide to set the old women ablaze and that all the men are so quickly reduced to agony (having clearly never heard of masturbation). I liked the fact that the women also had sex drives and also grew impatient at their celibacy, and I loved Lysistrata’s impassioned arguing against war.

And there: my thoughts on Lysistrata. Not really substantial enough for a proper review or reflection/discussion post, but as part of the classic books challenge is to write about each book you read, I really didn’t want to skip posting about one—especially when it was only my second book in the challenge.

Leave a Reply

