Classics Book Club: Spin Post

My Spin List

1. Complete Poems–Emily Dickinson
2. The Truce–Mario Benedetti
3. The House of the Seven Gables–Nathaniel Hawthorne
4. The Tempest–Shakespeare
5. David Copperfield–Charles Dickens
6. 1984–George Orwell
7. To Kill a Mockingbird–Harper Lee
8. The Moonstone–Wilkie Collins
9. The Warden–Anthony Trollope
10. Pygmalion–George Bernard Shaw
11. The Price of Salt–Patricia Highsmith
12. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight
13. Persuasion–Jane Austen
14. The Way We Live Now–Anthony Trollpe
15. To the Lighthouse–Virginia Woolf
16. The Professor–Charlotte Bronte
17. Love in the Time of Cholera–Gabriel Garcia Marquez
18. Watership Down–Richard Adams
19. Invisible Man–Ralph Ellison
20. Silas Marner–George Eliot

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Candiss
    May 08, 2014 @ 05:51:35

    I also have Love in the Time of Cholera on my spin list, and I’ve seen a couple of others who do, as well. We also share Patricia Highsmith in common, although with different books.

    I hope you get a great spin pick. Good luck!

    Reply

    • bridget hunter
      May 08, 2014 @ 06:08:52

      I’ve read most of Garcia Marquez’s other books and loved most of them; he’s pretty awesome. And I noticed you had Strangers on a Train – I just ordered it off amazon last night, along with The Price of Salt :D. I’m looking forward to both of them.

      Reply

  2. kelly
    May 07, 2014 @ 20:06:23

    I LOVE Persuasion. Haven’t read anything else on your list, but one of my coworkers is obsessed with Watership Down. You’re list just reminds me of all the books I still need to read!

    Reply

    • bridget hunter
      May 07, 2014 @ 20:17:58

      Persuasion’s technically a reread, but it’s been ages since I read it. The only other one on my spin list I’ve read is Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (translation by Burton Raffel) which I can wholeheartedly recommend. I think seeing all the different books I need to get to is what I’m enjoying the most from the CBC–although my tbr list is ridiculous by now :P.

      Reply

  3. Cleo @ Classical Carousel
    May 08, 2014 @ 00:29:28

    The Tempest is wonderful and I’m so glad to see some poetry on a list. I really need to add some to mine. To The Lighthouse is a personal favourite, but I know that Woolf can take some getting used to.

    I hope that you get the book you’re wishing for! Happy spin!

    Reply

    • bridget hunter
      May 08, 2014 @ 08:37:05

      Thanks! I’ve really enjoyed some of Shakespeare’s other comedies, and I’m excited to read The Tempest. I’ve read A Room of One’s Own and The Waves and loved both of them, so I’m really looking forward to Woolf :D.

      Reply

  4. Christy
    May 08, 2014 @ 20:03:11

    Lovely to see the Trollope novels there. I’ve read The Warden and Barchester Towers and I love his perceptive writing. Good luck with your spin!

    Reply

  5. bridget hunter
    May 08, 2014 @ 22:06:23

    Thanks! I love The Way We Live Now, so I’m really looking forward to them :.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

