Writing: Inertia

I’d planned, once I finished typing up the first part, to do a ten day sprint (about 3k a day) and finish the novel already. I had it all planned out, and I was so excited to finally get it done, but since then I’ve barely managed to keep to my 500-word/day minimum, and that with great difficulty. It has been a real struggle to get the words out, and one day I missed writing completely, as I was out of the house all day long.

I don’t know why it suddenly got so hard for me. I’m writing some parts that I would normally really enjoy (one of my characters is about to find out she’s pregnant, and another one is about to out himself publicly), but I am finding it so hard to just sit down at my desk and write even a hundred words.

I had taken a break from writing for several weeks recently, due to health reasons, so I guess what I really need to do is get back in the habit. It’s just such a chore, though, and I get back home from work every day just dreading the thought of having to sit down and force myself to write.

So, of course, I’m planning on starting my ten-day sprint tomorrow. The sooner I have it done, the sooner I’ll be able to kick back a few days and move on to something new. I am going to sit down on Monday and write three thousand words if it takes me all night.

Leave a Reply

